Time For a New Blog

Well…as you can see, I decided to start a new blog. You may or may not have been reading my previous blog, Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices, but I wanted to start new….start fresh. I wasn’t sure that I even wanted to blog anymore at all, but I really did enjoy it. I might not be blogging as MUCH as I did when I was writing at Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices (which was typically once a day), I plan to just write when I feel like it.

So why the new blog? Honestly it came down to the whole ‘blog comparison’ thing. I feel like my previous blog kind of fell under the ‘healthy living’ category, and well, I am just kind of over that category. Don’t get me wrong, I still read that cateogory of blogs (some of them are even my favorite blogs to read!), I just didn’t want to feel like I could ONLY blog about those particular topics. I got WAY too caught up in the ‘she eats that everyday, boy do I feel like a pig, or works out ‘X’ amount of time..and I only workout this amount of time.’ It was getting out of control and ended up bringing me down more, rather than being a positive thing in my life. So I stopped reading those blogs, actually I stopped reading most blogs for a while- I just needed a break, and now I’m only going to read stuff that I truly ENJOY reading…and not blogs that bring me down, or that don’t appear to be ‘real.’ <—I’m sure you know what I mean.

Now I’m just going to be an everything blog. I don’t want a category. I will be sharing a bunch of stuff; things that were on my old blog- like new recipes & workouts…but also just fun stuff- like articles I might of found online that I think other people might like…or my favorite hair products. Who knows what I might think of, I just don’t want to be a ‘categorized’ blog. I’m ready for a new look .

Just give me some time to get this new blog up to date- I’ll be adding some tabs at the top…and it needs some more color or something! I just have to figure it out .

You might of wondered where I’ve been. Well, for starters….the holidays were great!! We (my husband Craig & I), spent Thanksgiving in Maryland with Craig’s family & then Christmas here in Florida with my family.
IMG_2491
^before the Ravens v. 49ers on Thanksgiving night.
IMG_3041
^Chopping down my in-laws Christmas tree- my first time chopping down a tree.

375<—Craig & I had Christmas at our house. Don’t mind the treadmill behind my head, but DO notice the purple tree..for the Ravens, of course.

I got a bunch of pig & Ravens gear…including my favorite player – Lardarius Webb’s jersey-

webb

And Craig got some new  toys…
236
Including a dragon car to ride around on.
No, I’m just kidding…it was for our nephew Ethan, although I think Craig may of wanted to keep it for himself.

I also turned 25 on December 26th- a QUARTER of a century…eek! Craig surprised me with a trip to St. Augustine & a night at a bed & breakfast.
026
002<—highly recommend this place!
We went on a horse drawn carriage ride through the city at night, and then enjoyed dinner on the oceanfront. Perfect way to celebrate turning 25.

Shortly after we went down to Fort Lauderdale to spend New Years Eve with my best friend, Lea.
010-1
021-2

We had a great time…and enjoyed ringing in 2012 with some of our favorite people! It’s hard to believe it’s already 2012!

Then it was back to reality, and time to get back to the grind at work. Now January is almost over…and we are heading into February. It’s getting closer to Valentine’s day, which I know is one of the most hated holidays, but I have to admit I really do like it. Maybe it’s because I love those little conversation hearts, or just because I love to love. I’m not sure, but I have liked the holiday ever since I was little.
I just googled ‘conversation hearts’ and this popped up…
FO_jerseyshorehearts_5
they must of guessed it, those were the EXACT hearts I was looking for. HA! Totally kidding. I don’t know how I feel about ‘snookin 4 luv.’ Winking smile

Anyways, time to go & work on some house stuff. It feels like every weekend we have been doing some kind of renovation or changes to our house…have to admit, I kind of love it! I also need to work on this new blog.

Hope you enjoy your day! I plan to take advantage of this gorgeous weather we are having this afternoon- it’s perfect for a run!

40 thoughts on “Time For a New Blog

  1. Um, hi old friend! Your new blog name is so clever! Love and miss you!

  2. love the new blog and the life you express in it. It’s MARRIED you and it’s a new chapter. Good things!!

  3. So glad to see you back, Holly! I loved reading Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices, and I look forward to following your new blog! :)

  4. So glad you are blogging again!! Really missed you!

  5. What a great new outlook you have! Can’t wait to read more of your blog…it sounds like you had a great time over the holidays and celebrating your birthday!

  6. Hi! I’ve been a long time reader of your blog and you’ve always been one of my favorites!! I’m excited to see you’ve started blogging again and can’t wait to read!

  7. YAY! I’m so glad you’re back. And I think it’s great that you’re dropping the label and doing what you want :). Can’t wait to read more Holly!! I’ve missed you!

  8. I love it Holly, I’m so excited for you. Part of the reason I changed blog titles and such is because I felt like I just fell into that category and wanted something fresh. I’m glad you are back and can’t wait to ready more! :)

  9. I’ve missed you. I love fresh starts <3

  10. Yay, so glad you are blogging again!! Being able to blog about any random thing you want to is the best..although don’t forget to include your awesome leg workouts from time to time! :)

  11. Yayyy, I love your new blog name! So cute. And I’m excited for whatever you share on this new blog. I think that’s what makes blogging so fun – not feeling so tied down to a certain ‘genre.’ But promise you’ll post donut recipes every now and then :)

  12. Congrats on the new blog, Holly! I think it’s great that you decided to continue blogging but to do it in a way that best suits you. I know I’ll still be reading! :)

  13. I know exactly what you mean by the healthy living blog community getting overwhelming. When I first started I was swept up into it, but soon realized that i was reading it and only getting frustrated that it all seemed so fake! so now with a year behind me I have found my own “everything” niche and only blog when I want to, and about whatever I want to. and only follow blogs I truly enjoy, I’m glad I found your new blog!

  14. Love love love the new blog. I definitely know what you mean! I guess I could fall under a category, but I really just blog about whatever I want. It’s your blog, do what’s best for you! xo

  15. I just added your blog to my Google Reader! I did read GY&AS so I’m very glad you are continuing to blog. I got worried because I would hardly ever see your blog posts in my reader, so I’m glad you’re back.

  16. Hi lady!! I have missed you! I am off to update my reader and also my blog roll :)

  17. Yay!! So happy you are back! Love the title of the new blog and can’t wait to keep reading :)

  18. I just check GYAAS and was so pleased to see the link to your new blog! I missed your posts! Best of luck with it :)

  19. hey holly! Just wanted to let you know I think it’s great you are branching out. I totally understand the comparison aspect of healthy living blogs. I too went through the same thing. It was becoming a bit dangerous for me and was making me very unhappy and I was sliding back into a lifestyle that made me unpleasant and made me feel undeserving. I too decided the best thing to do was cut ties with all of it. I stopped reading those blogs all together until I was in a good place again and slowly started reading the ones I loved most on occasion. I realized the ones I really loved was about more than what they ate. I enjoyed relating to their life. And others, I realized I were only reading to compare my “healthy” lifestyle, and that is not enjoyable. So know I stick to the ones I enjoy and let go of the ones I read purely to compare and contrast my life with. I have to say it’s so freeing not sticking to any expected routine and feeling down when I “think” I should’ve done this or that. But that’s why I enjoy your blog, you talk about many different aspects of your life and can’t wait to see you emphasize on those in the future!

    • Hi Stevie! Thank you so much for your comment! I was in the SAME boat as you- getting way too caught up in the comparison thing..not good! I cut out a lot of blogs too- just ones that did not do anything for me, or that we just really bringing me down. No sense in having that in our lives, right?! Thanks again for your comment, I hope you enjoy my new blog :)

  20. Congrats on the bew blog! While I do like getting healthy tips and recipes here and there, I enjoy the “life” blogs the most. I like getting to know the blogger. ;) Looking forward to your new blog! ;)

Leave a Reply

