Stronger

As I was driving home yesterday the song ‘Stronger’ by Kelly Clarkson (I didn’t even realize it was Kelly Clarkson, but I LOVE it) came on & I started rocking out. Oh yes, I am totally that girl that sings as loud as she can in her car…& I think I sound good. HA! Good thing I’m all alone, otherwise I might bust someone’s ear drums!

As I was screaming, I mean singing, I really started to think about the words & how MUCH I can relate to them.  Not so much the whole song, but DEFINITELY the chorus.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter
Footsteps even lighter
Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stronger
Just me, myself and I
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller”

Now I do realize that in this song she is talking about a break up & how she got stronger after he left, and even though that is not what I am relating to, the chorus still hit me.

It is really eye opening when you think about it. Struggles are put into your life & they are put there to make you STRONGER. Yes, we all have our own issues…and I’m sure we all have a lot of them. I know off the top of my head I can think of several struggles in my life that have deeply impacted me…one of them being Crohn’s Disease.

I could just sit back & feel sorry for myself & wonder why I was the lucky one to inherit the disease, OR I could turn it around & think of how it has made me stronger as a person.

The best thing that I have finally been able to do, after MANY years, is to just laugh about the disease. Like for instance, I now just chuckle to myself when I have to make a mad dash to the bathroom…I can only imagine what people must be thinking. But I just laugh about it. Who cares what people think!!

I mean if you can’t find humor in a situation, then you are just going to drag yourself down.

So next time you are in a hard situation, or something comes up that really brings you down, just remember: it is there to make YOU STRONGER! Try to take a step back & see the humor in a situation, or something positive that might come out of it. There is ALWAYS a positive to every situation, even if you don’t realize it right away.

Everyday just try to tell yourself “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!!”
stronger

& I promise you will turn that negative thinking right around!

TGIF! Enjoy your weekend!!

13 thoughts on “Stronger

  1. I love that song too…it’s a really easy one to sing along too because the beat is so catchy! I’m glad that you are maintaining such a positive outlook about everything. Sometimes we just need to remember that God only gives us what we can handle : )

  2. Very true, Holly! I’m really good at putting things into perspective, which I think sort of relates to the “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” thing. In most “tough” situations, it could just about always be worse. We only live once, and I think overcoming tough obstacles along the way just makes us enjoy our stay here even more! Happy Friday 🙂

  3. I really like that song! I heard it for the first time the other day. The lyric, “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,” is so true! I can relate to that on so many different levels with all aspects of my life. Have a great Friday!

  4. Love this girl! I didn’t realize it was Kelly either until someone told me. I’m certainly trying to tell myself that and that everything will get better eventually! 🙂

  5. First of all, that picture of you in that red top is STUNNING!! Seriously, you need to model. That song is incredible and I love it so much. You have been through so much with your Crohn’s Disease and your perspective of how it made you stronger is amazing, you are such a great example to me!

  6. I’m not a big Kelly Clarkson fan, but I do like this message!! I can do ALL things through HIM who gives me strength … one of my favorite verses!! 🙂

  7. That song is an amazing running song! Definitely keeps you pushing yourself to become stronger. Also, Kelly is just kind of amazing 🙂

  8. I’m not typically a Kelly Clarkson fan, but I LOVE that song!

  9. I just downloaded this song! I can see myself jamming out to it in the car soon!! After a tough year with my health a few years ago, I now realize that it made me a stronger person. I also appreciate my health more than ever. I’ll continue to try remembering this positive message during the tougher times! Thanks for being so positive! 🙂

  10. I love this song too. Every few years us girls need a new stronger anthem. Like Britney Spears’ Stronger, and Christina Aguilera’s Fighter. Many people can relate to them in so many different ways, not only love. We need our annual girl anthems and this is it! 😉

  11. Hi!

    I found your blog via Hope’s and had to comment on this, because Kelly is my favorite singer and I love, love, love this song. Isn’t it so empowering?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

