Two Ingredient Greek Yogurt Cake

So do you want to know the easiest, healthiest cake recipe ever? 

Yep, it’s true. Only two ingredients. (well, ok, it’s really 3, if you consider water an ingredient ;) )
IMG_4576

I used Pillsbury reduced sugar cake mix, but you could also use regular. I just happened to have this one in our pantry.
IMG_4578

I was trying to decide what flavor I wanted to make this cake. You can definitely use plain Greek yogurt in place of flavored, but I wanted to have a flavored cake. As I got to thinking, orange just sounded really good! And the best part is that it is one of Chobani’s new flavors! I just can’t get away from cooking with these flavors lately. They are all just too good!

IMG_4577 

Now to make the cake all that you need to do is combine the cake mix, Greek yogurt & 1 cup of water.

IMG_4582

Mix it up really well & then bake according to package directions. (you may have to reduce the time a bit, just keep an eye on it!) I baked it in a 13×9” pan.

Once baked, I wanted to add some kind of topping. Keeping with the orange flavor, I made orange whipped topping combining cool whip, 5 tbsp. of orange juice & 1 tsp. orange peel.

IMG_4580     plus  IMG_4581  plus  101607900-200x200-0-0

Just mix it up really well & top the cooled cake with it. I also sprinkled the orange peel over top of it, because I LOVE orange flavoring…the more the merrier ;)
IMG_4583

EASIEST, Healthiest cake recipe EVER!

IMG_4586

The best part is that when I calculated the calories in this recipe, it’s only about 150 calories per piece. (I calculated it based on a 13×9” pan, cut into 12 pieces)

IMG_4591

Not too shabby, right?! I LOVED the cake. I could of eaten about 3 pieces, rather than just one. (thank goodness for self control ;) ) Craig also tried it & said it tastes more ‘pudding-ing’ than regular cake. He said it was really good, just the consistency was a bit thicker. But he had no problem polishing off his cake ;)

When the sweet tooth strikes, at least you have a fairly healthy way to help it subside.

My boss’ wife told me about this recipe last week, and as soon as I heard it, I HAD to give it a try. She is also into healthy eating & staying fit, so I love getting new recipes from her. My boss brought in black bean brownies last week for us that she had made & they were the BEST ones that I have had yet! I have tried them before & thought they were just ok. But her brownies were actually REALLY good!! I will have to get that recipe & share it with you. I promise that NO ONE will know there are black beans in the recipe! (just don’t tell them, they might think you are bit loopy ;) )

As I was making this orange cake, I was thinking of all of the other combinations that would be really good. I’m thinking I will have to try a strawberry or blueberry cake with the yogurt & real fruit chopped up in it. How good does that sound?!

Kind of reminds me of JELL-O cake!
document_recipe_4375_SFS_JJ07_OPN_4C_StrawberryCakeVer1_2_article
(source)

Jell-O cake used to be my favorite when I was younger. I would always request it for my birthday, and then probably eat about half the cake with absolutely NO problem! ;)

What is your favorite type of cake?

24 thoughts on “Two Ingredient Greek Yogurt Cake

  1. Yum, that looks awesome!! I love that idea! I pretty much love all cake. Red velvet, carrot cake, Texas sheet cake … they’re all delicious in my book! ;)

  2. Thanks for posting! Can’t wait to get my goodies to try this. I’m thinking apple Chobani & spice cake mix?! Hmmmm!

  3. Wow that looks so good. I have tried two ingredient cakes with pumpkin but never yogurt. I def think I’ll be giving this a try. :)

  4. Get that black bean brownie recipe, girl! :)

  5. This cake looks great! I love that the recipe only has two ingredients! Definitely want to try it :)

  6. That cakes looks delicious!! So simple too!!

  7. WOW that looks delicious!!!! Definitely trying that recipe

  8. That looks delicious! And I am all for simple!
    Thanks for sharing. :)

  9. OMG, need to make this! Love the sound of that frosting too!

  10. Pingback: Baked Blueberry Cake Donuts « Everyday's a 'Hollyday'

  11. I am making this today! With chocolate cake mix and raspberry Chobani. Thanks for the idea!!!

  12. Pingback: Anxiously Awaiting | Peanut Butter Fingers

  13. Thanks for posting! This sounds great and easy to make!

  14. Reblogged this on Rebellious Crohnsie and commented:
    After seeing this recipe, I felt I HAD to reblog this.
    I’m hoping once my flare has settled, I’ll give this a try!!
    -L

  15. This is awesome and I would do it with reduced.

  16. Pingback: Chocolate Raspberry Cake: Healthy and Delicious and a GIVE AWAY!!! «

  17. Just wondering if I could do that with regular type yogurt, so I can do “no sugar added” and just reduce the water. Any thoughts on that?

  18. How much yogurt per box of cake mix?

  19. Pingback: Let’s Get Cooking | Pamcakes & Coffee

Leave a Reply

