The REAL Stuff.

Good Morning!

Happy Monday. Ugh, I always hate saying that because Mondays are never really happy, ya know? But I think this one is pretty happy because there is a break in the middle. (hopefully for you too!)

I just wanted to share a great post that I read this morning from Kelly. She talks about being ‘real,’ and how a lot of bloggers are not ‘real.’ They talk about eating a lot of ‘fake’ foods- such as sugar substitutes, foods made with artificial ingredients, etc.

I have to admit, I ALWAYS used sugar substitutes. Splenda wasย a staple in our household. I put it in my coffee everyday; I used it for baking in place of real sugar. I didn’t even keep real sugar in our house most of the time.

I always had margarine, yep, the stuff made from chemicals. Yum.ย Never butter. Margarine was always used in place of butter in recipes.

Diet soda. That was all I drank. We don’t drink much soda, but when we did it was diet. Always.

When I used syrup, it was sugar free too. Of course! I mean who would use REAL syrup?! Have you seen the calories in that stuff?!?!

And then I got pregnant. And everything changed.

I decided that I didn’t want to put ‘chemicals’ in my body. I didn’t want our child ingesting that stuff.

What’s funny to me is that it took me that long to realize that. And it took a HUGE event happening to change my mind.

Because I didn’t want our little girl to have that stuff, I decided to stop eating any kind of artificial sugar. (Well, to the best of my ability, sometimes you don’t realize there is ‘fake’ stuff in there…especially when eating out) Then I thought about it more….pretty much it was OK for me to eat chemicals, but NOT for our child. That sounds kind of crazy. I should want that for myself ALL of the time.

So out went the Splenda, margarine, sugar free foods, etc. IN with the REAL sugar, REAL butter, REAL syrup. OH MY GOSH…real maple syrup?! HOLY MOLY. You need to have some now. I forgot HOW GOOD it is! I know that sounds SO silly, but after years of eating sugar free food you forget how GOOD the real stuff is!

You know what else I noticed? That when you use the ‘real’ stuff you actually end up using less of it. Now when I put real sugar in my coffee, I use about half that I would use of Splenda. I use real cream in my coffee too..and I notice that again, I use about half of what I would of used for sugar free/fat freeย creamer. Real butter goes a LONG way, you really just need a fraction of that compared to margarine. And it gives food SO MUCH MORE flavor that using margarine.

One of the hardest ones was giving up diet soda. Like I said, Craig & I don’t really drink soda, but we would have it occassionally for a ‘treat.’ He actually asked me to buy the REAL Coke instead of diet Coke because he had some one day when he was out to lunch & forgot how good a REAL Coke is. He said for as little that we drink soda, having the real stuff around is so worth the extra 140 calories. The more I thought about it, the more I realized he is 100% right! What is 140 extra calories going to do every once in a while?! NOTHING.

Of course Coke isn’t the healthiest thing in the world, I’m not advocating drinks cans & cans of Coke a day, I’m just saying that if I do have a soda now & then it’s going to be the REAL stuff, with REAL sugar…not a diet soda filled with chemicals that my body doesn’t recognize.

Hope you didn’t mind reading my little rant. I just couldn’t help but comment after reading Kelly’s post this morning. It got me thinking ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope that you all have a wonderful 4th of July! We are planning to spend the day by the pool…and then have some BBQ for dinner….and maybe a REAL Coke to go along with it ๐Ÿ˜‰

12 thoughts on “The REAL Stuff.

  1. I’m sure that being pregnant changes a lot – I’m glad you’re finding balance with real foods! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think I could give up my occasional Diet Cokes, but Diet Pepsi is NOT worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Very good points, Holly. I think I’m pretty good in this area, but I’m not perfect. But when I eventually get pregnant, I have a feeling I’m going to do exactly what you did and get rid of ALL the fake stuff!!

  3. This is very, very true. What a great post! I always question that. How can things like 0 calorie walden farm products be natural? They aren’t! I’d rather just have things in its natural state. It makes me think of my grandma. She made everything from scratch using all real ingredients. And now she is 92 and still kickin it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. It’s amazing the clarity that pregnancy brings in your food choices isn’t it? Good job Holly. This is such a great step for you and your little gal!

  5. I certainly agree. There are a lot of foods that I try and have the real versions of-though I’m diabetic so have to switch to the sugar free on a lot. I try and find natural substitutes which is hard too. I agree with the comment about the Walden Farms stuff-I just skip that completely. That stuff has never even seemed normal to me!

  6. Great post! I’m glad that being pregnant has kind of changed the way you look at some foods! It’s true that most people are afraid of using butter, real sugar, cream, etc. but just like it’s been said before, “all things in moderation are fine!” Like you said, when you’re using the real stuff, you don’t use much of it, so it’s not gonna harm you! ๐Ÿ™‚ The real stuff is probably better for you than the fake stuff with chemicals, too!

    I’m personally glad that you had your little “rant,” because maybe it’ll help more people learn what you’ve learned! The louder, the better! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Love this! Good for you and your baby! I’m all for real butter and real sugar. I hate the fake stuff because it’s exactly that – fake. At least real butter, as calorific as it may be is natural and easy on your body’s digestive system. I’ve heard that processed butters can stress our dig.systems out. I also feel the same about weight watchers bread. I prefer one good slice of quality bread to two tiny slices of low calorie bread (the ones with massive ingredient lists)!

  8. Ha, I almost always say “Happy Monday” on my Monday posts and I always think to myself, people probably hate me for saying that. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Very eye-opening post, Holly! I try to avoid chemicals in food/sweeteners when possible, but I definitely still use splenda in my coffee. Lately though, I’ve been using stevia when I have it on hand. The diet soda would be so tough for me to break though — I love Coke Zero and Fresca, ha! But you’re right, the small amount of calories probably doesn’t matter much in the long run. One thing I do ALWAYS use real sugar in… my baking!

    Have a good weekend! <— way easier to say than "Happy Monday" ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Couldn’t agree more – i’d rather a small serving of the real stuff and add some calories then get the fake chemical 0 calorie stuff.
    It tastes 10x better and i don’t really trust foods that are made in a factory!

  10. SO freaking proud of you!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Pingback: Easy Veggie and Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

