Love You Forever

Good Morning & Happy Friday!!!

If you read yesterday’s post, you probably realized that yesterday was pretty rough. Truth be told this week has been pretty rough. We take the bad with the good though, right?

Gabriella just hasn’t been sleeping well at night and she refuses to nap. I mean this girl will fight will all of her might to not nap. Eventually I just give up. I’ll end up getting her & taking her for a run or walk…and to the park. She loves being outside & so do I.

IMG_4501-1

But Wednesday she had her shots, which did not make anything easier. She woke up with a fever yesterday morning- poor little thing. 😦 Thankfully I got the fever to break, but we still did a lot of rest, fluids & extra cuddle time.

g morning

^how she woke up yesterday, but shortly after this picture is when I discovered the fever 😦

When it was time for her afternoon nap, (I feed her around 12:30pm and she falls asleep on me- and that is how I stay- I LOVE this time, just having her sleep on me for a few hours makes me SO very happy) she just would NOT go to sleep. She was exhausted & rubbing her eyes non stop. She wouldn’t fall asleep on me, so I put her in her crib, turned on her sound machine & hoped for the best.

Well the best didn’t happen. She ended up just crying…and crying. I tried to block it out- at least to see if she would just end up falling asleep because she NEEDED sleep- so I started cleaning to distract myself. After about 10 minutes, she was still crying so I gave up. I went & got her.

I have to admit, I’m NO WHERE near perfect, I was a bit frustrated. I wanted her to nap, not just because I wanted to get some work done, but also because I KNEW she needed sleep.

As soon as I brought her downstairs, I sat her on the floor & grabbed a book to read to her. Then the craziest thing happened…I didn’t even look at the book I grabbed and I just opened it & started reading.

….and then the tears started flowing.

love you forever

Love You Forever.

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you always,
As long as I’m living,
my baby you’ll be.”

^I think I want to get that saying for her room- I’ve seen a few canvases on Etsy that I like.

Oh.My.Gosh. Have you ever read this book???? I had NEVER read it before. Ever. It is one of the SWEETEST, most heart wrenching children’s books.

There I was sitting on the ground, with Gabriella in my lap just sobbing. Poor girl was looking up at me like, ‘are you ok Mommy?’ It put EVERYTHING into perspective. I told her she could be cranky as much as she wanted to nap, refuse to nap, and keep me up ALL night long. No longer did ANY of that matter. Here I am, the LUCKIEST and most BLESSED Mom. Gabriella is healthy, cute as can be (hey, I may be a bit biased 😉 ), and MY daughter!! Sometimes is still amazes me that I’m a MOM..truly the BEST feeling in the world.

me and g 1me and g 2

I swear there was some divine intervention from the Big Guy upstairs when I grabbed that book yesterday. Gabriella and I BOTH needed that!

Did you have a favorite book as a child?

Moms out there: Favorite book to read to your child?

18 thoughts on “Love You Forever

  1. It’s amazing how something so simple can take away your biggest frustrations and put everything into perspective! Glad to read your mind is at ease from your long and frustrating week!

    Favorite Book as a child: Little Critter “I Was So Mad”…loved Little Critter!

  2. I’m a river whenever I read that book! We just have to remember how blessed we are to even be going through those struggles/ The Giving Tree still gets me everytime. You and G look so beautiful for such sleepless nights! PS- Could she be teething? G always struck a fever right before teeth came in. I always say better to have them get sick now and build up some antibodies than keep getting sick later in life. Hope last night and tonight are better! Sending new mom love your way!
    emma @ amomrunsthistown.com

  3. I love this book! I hadn’t read it either until the other day & I too CRIED my eyes out! There are & always will be those moments when things get so overwhelming and stressful but at the end of the day all that matters is that we have beautiful & healthy babies. We are SOO SOO BLESSED!! 🙂 ❤
    P.s. I'm no expert, but it sounds like teething on top of the fact that she had shots, so I'm assuming it was a combo of both. :-/ We are going through a teething phase too and it totally stinks! 😦

    That's one of our faves, I recently wrote a post about A's newest favorite books! I think they are ALL my favorite but I really like Olivia, bc at the end of the story Olivia's mommy says "you know you really wear me out, but I love you anyway!" 🙂

    • YES- we definitely are very blessed!!
      & ya, she is teething…pretty bad. Gave her some Hyland’s teething tablets & hoping she feels better soon. Her little gums are white, so I know they will pop soon.
      I have Olivia books for her too – LOVE anything pig!

  4. Aww. I know Elmo is a dog and is totally different than having a baby but there are times I get frustrated with him as well. I remember one time specifically I got so mad at him because he was just being, well, a puppy. Later, I was frustrated with my knee and got upset and it was almost like he sensed it. He came and just sat in between my legs and looked at me. It melted my heart and sometimes it’s just moments like these which make you realize how blessed you really are. They’re will be good and bad days but I’m sure the overall happiness she brings you wins your heart.

  5. 🙂 Next time we are together, I’ll sing you the song that we made up for that book. Just found out that we probably won’t see you all in July. I’m sad about that, but totally understand.

    • I would love to hear the song!!
      Unfortunately we aren’t going to be able to make it, just hard to fly- we just need so much stuff…and Gabriella is really bad in the car, so the drive to Wildwood from Maryland would be terrible for all of us :/ Maybe one year we will be able to get up there sometime. I would love for her to be able to experience it!! Miss you guys.

  6. That’s sweet. 🙂 I’ve been having a tough time emotionally the past couple of weeks, but just this afternoon, Addie fell asleep on my chest. And that is the best feeling in the world! It makes the difficult moments worth it!

  7. I love a book called “where’s teddy?” I know all the words off my heart and so does my eldest!

  8. My mom used to read that to me when I was little, and then I read it again out loud in one of my Elementary Education classes (to students my age) for a project about change. It had been so long since I’d read it, I started crying while reading it in front of the class, and then everyone else (95% girls) in the class started crying with me! We all ended up in a fit of giggles/tears, and sometimes I got through the whole book. It was kind of embarrassing, but I just didn’t realize what that book meant when I was younger, and it hit me when I was older!

  9. Whatever you do, don’t read “If I Could Keep You Little!” It’s so sweet but so sad.

    We have the “I’ll Love You Forever” quote hanging in our little man’s room…prob my fave book as a kid.

  10. Pingback: Everyday's a 'Hollyday' | Top 10 Things for a Six Month Old

Leave a Reply

