I’m the Lucky One

Well guys, I must say…This was the BEST Mother’s Day EVER. Wanna know why?? Because I get to be the Mommy to such an AMAZING little girl.

197652_446758705414014_1093916709_n

One of my girlfriends had this on her Facebook page &  I couldn’t agree more. Gabriella may not be an ‘easy’ baby (is there even such thing as an easy baby?!) – and by that I just mean that she isn’t a fan of taking a bottle, or sleeping many hours at a time – but you know what?? Everything happens for a reason! It must mean that she just needs EXTRA Momma time, and I am 100% OK with that!! 🙂

Now, I have to brag on my hubby for a minute. He really is the best.

I was up at 5:30am to feed Gabriella, and was able to rock her back to sleep. (Sometimes she is up for the day at this time) I went back in our room to go to sleep, but was just tossing & turning…I knew I wouldn’t be able to fall back asleep. I figured I would make the most of my time & asked Craig if he minded if I went to the gym.

He said absolutely not, so I was on my way. (I have a new workout coming your way- arms, abs & calves!) Shortly after me leaving, Gabriella decided that she in fact WAS up for the day…and was ready to get out of her crib.

He took care of her while I was gone, and even sent me a super cute picture of her when he went in to her room to get her.

Once I got back to the house, I was walking up to the door & saw a piece of paper just laying there. I was a bit confused, I thought maybe I had dropped something out of my purse when I was leaving for the gym. Nope. I picked it up…and this is what I found:

mothers day

I mean really?! Does it get any cuter??

I walked in and he was playing with Gabriella. I sat down & started playing with them, and shortly there after Gabriella ‘gave’ me my Mother’s Day gift.

First was a card ‘signed’ by her. ADORABLE.

And then she ‘handed’ me a small gift box, with a beautiful necklace inside!

IMG_4629-1

IMG_4626-1

Hopefully you can see it, but it is Gabriella’s birth stone- Citrine/ yellow topaz.

I LOVE it! The funny thing is, I’m not a huge jewelry person, but I really had been wanting a new necklace- he did GREAT!! …or I mean Gabriella did GREAT 😉

The rest of the morning was spent hanging out with G, putting her down for a nap & then getting everything ready for brunch!

We also got to Skype with Grandma & PapaNote in Maryland, which Gabriella loved!

IMG_4615

Please excuse her bed head look 😉

She is actually starting to ‘understand’ the idea of Skype. Before she would just kind of stare off into space when we had Skype on, but now she ‘gets it.’ She sees the people on the other end of the computer. It’s actually really cool to see her react to it! 🙂

IMG_4622-1

Like I said yesterday, I made Sally’s Super Crumb Coffee Cake. YOU GUYS, this recipe is TO.DIE.FOR. Seriously SO GOOD!!!

IMG_4597

IMG_4604

Look at all of that crumb topping! I did not change a thing from her recipe- just used the standard substitute for buttermilk. (I used Skim milk & white distilled vinegar- did perfectly fine!)

The only weird thing that happened was that the crumb topping ended up falling through on part of the cake. Not sure what I did, but the batter ended up rising above the topping, just on part of it.

IMG_4607

Maybe I pressed too hard on it. But you know what? It ended up being a delicious mistake! It was like a little ‘surprise’ when you bit into the cake because from the top you didn’t know what to expect.

This coffee cake was the STAR of the show. I also had blueberry scones & mini bagels, along with a TON of fruit & greek yogurt dip. (I just combined Chobani Strawberry banana & Pineapple- made for quite a tasty dip!)

IMG_4610

It was a really fun day, and it was FANTASTIC to be able to spend it with my sister! (& of course my brother in law, nephew & niece as well!)

IMG_4656-1

Our girls are only two and a half months apart!! Craig declared yesterday that the WILL be best friends, no matter what they say! 😀

IMG_4649

Nothing better than spending time with family, even as far as Maryland (!!!) & enjoying a day filled with lots of love from little ones. ❤

Sometimes I take a step back & am just like, WOW! I’m a MOM!. I don’t know how to describe it. It just kind of ‘hits’ me. Sometimes it’s unreal, but it is the BEST feeling in the WORLD.

IMG_4628-1

Seriously she COMPLETES us. Gabriella is our entire world, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

5 thoughts on “I’m the Lucky One

  1. she is a blessing because you are a blessing. Happy Mother’s day. xxoo

  2. She is just so cute :)! She is blessed to have you!

  3. Gabriella is so lucky to have you as a mom! And she is so cute with Skype, I bet it’s so fun watching her! Also.. did you make those scones?!

  4. So true! What a great Mother’s Day! I need to show this to my hubby 😉
    emma @ amomrunsthistown.com

  5. The necklace is gorgeous! And happy belated Mother’s Day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

