Grandma’s Visit & Crock Pot Dessert Cake Recipe

Well hello there! Long time no talk.

Sorry this week has been a little crazy. (Sometimes I feel like I say that every week, maybe I should say crazy month instead. 😉 ) I thought Gabriella had a possible ear infection. Whenever she would nurse, she would tug on her ears. I figured it was just part of the teething process or maybe she was just discovering her ears…OR that it was an ear infection. She had no other symptoms, but I wanted to get her checked out just in case.

I took her to the doctor this morning, and everything went well. She is A-OK! Yay!

IMG_4959

…and right back to her old self. 😉

IMG_4975

I knew she was probably fine, but it makes this Momma feel better to know that she really is ok.

This past weekend Gabriella had a special visitor.

IMG_4876

Grandma!

We flew Craig’s Mom in for a long weekend for her mother’s day present. We knew it would be the perfect present, since I know she loves seeing Gabriella…and living in Maryland they don’t get to see her often, other than through Skype.

IMG_4623

We had a really fun time having her here, and Gabriella showed her all of the things that she has been up to lately. Like playing in her new kiddie pool…

pool

Swinging at the park (probably her very favorite thing right now)…

park2

Jumping in her Jumperoo, (<—LOVES that thing…and life saving for Mommy 😉 )

IMG_4927

Rooting for the Orioles, (in Craig’s Jim Palmer shirt from when he was a baby)

IMG_4787

& of course watching other kids at the pool.

IMG_4775

She LOVES watching other children. It’s the cutest thing. She will just stare at them, smile, laugh & coo. I have a feeling we have a little social butterfly on our hands.

On Saturday we watched the Preakness and we all picked our horses. Gabriella even chose one, Mylute, who ended up coming in third! Girl has gambling in her blood. 😀

IMG_4742

IMG_4744

I also attempted to make a ‘Black Eyed Susan’ drink, which is the drink of the Preakness.

IMG_4748

It wasn’t exact, I couldn’t find all of the ingredients, but it was a mixture of orange vodka, clear rum, orange juice & fresh pineapple juice. It was quite flavorful, and you couldn’t taste the alcohol, which is always a sign of a good drink. 😉

I figured we would top the weekend off with a recipe that I found on Pinterest for a crock pot recipe for Peanut Butter Cup Cake.

Below is my version of the recipe, the original recipe is linked above!

Crock Pot Peanut Butter Lava Cake

IMG_4918

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup Truvia baking blend
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/2 cup skim milk
1 tablespoon unsweetened apple sauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Chocolate topping:
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup Truvia baking blend
1 cup boiling water

Optional:
Vanilla Ice cream or frozen yogurt
Melted peanut butter

Directions:
1. Use a 4-quart slow cooker coated well with cooking spray.
2. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, 1/4 cup Truvia baking blend, baking powder and salt.
3. In the microwave, melt peanut butters for about 30 seconds, and then add to the mix along with milk, apple sauce and vanilla. Stir really well to combine. Spread this mixture into the bottom of your slow cooker.
4. In a separate bowl, mix together cocoa powder, the remaining 1/4 cup Truvia baking blend, and 1 cup boiling water (be careful!) Pour this evenly over the peanut butter batter in your cooker.
5. Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours (or high for 2-4 hours), or until the top has set and an inserted toothpick (into the cake–underneath the cake is molten chocolate) comes out clean. Let the cake sit uncovered in an unplugged crockpot for about 20 minutes, then serve warm in dessert bowls, top with ice cream & melted peanut butter, if desired.

IMG_4920

I recommend the ice cream & peanut butter…it’s like the cherry on top. 😉

We all had a really good time, I wish our families were not so far away. I would LOVE for us all to get together more often. Gabriella does too.

IMG_4933

She would love to have someone else to stare at the grass with her.

NEW workout coming soon!! I just did it & I think you will really like it.

Any other Preakness watchers out there?? Did you pick a horse? How did you do?

I picked Departing…no idea how it did. Not too well I am guessing.

Favorite crock pot recipe? I need some more, crock pot cooking makes life SO MUCH easier! I have a ton on Pinterest, but would love some recommendations for recipes that you have tried & love.

10 thoughts on “Grandma’s Visit & Crock Pot Dessert Cake Recipe

  1. That crock-pot recipe looks super easy and delicious. Next time I have a crowd over, I’ll have to give it a try!

  2. I love that you guys had Gabriella pick a horse in the Preakness! Between that, the Orioles, & the Ravens, you guys are really setting her up to be a HUGE Baltimore fan. 🙂 Love it!

    Black eyed susan – I’ve never heard of that drink but it sounds SO good and refreshing.

    I use my crock pot far too infrequently since moving to Florida. It’s strange because it’s not like the crockpot heats up the kitchen, but for some reason I associate using it with cold weather. I need to change that!

  3. That crockpot cake actually doesn’t look too terrible for you either. As far as cakes go, I think it seems like one of the healthier choices. I only really use my crockpot for chicken honestly. I know Nicki at lifeafterswim.com uses a lot of crockpot recipes though (I’m always jealous). LOL

  4. So cute so cute so cute!! That cake looks awesome. Nice job!! Miss youuuuuu!

  5. It is by no means a complicated recipe but our favorite thing to make in the crockpot is a roast. We just put in a semi-frozen roast, some cut up potatoes, and cut up carrots (never baby carrots) and some salt and pepper and a little bit of beef broth in the bottom. We cook on low for at least 4 hours (depends how hot yours cooks) until the meat is cooked and the veggies are soft. I take the juice and make gravy from it to pour on bread as well.

  6. Love your G pics! My G loves watching others too. We actually got her in the freezing cold pool yesterday!
    Going to make my MIL try that crock pot recipe for me!
    Emma @ amomrunsthistown.com

  7. That cake looks AWESOME. And it’s so easy! I had a crockpot in college and definitely didn’t take advantage of it enough. I kind of want to make this for Memorial Day but I have like 3 other desserts I’m trying to decide between, too. 😛 What a great Mother’s Day present! I know it meant more to Craig’s mom than flowers or candy FOR SURE. I’m glad she was able to make the trip!

  8. That cake looks delicious! I love that it was made in the crockpot! Definitely want to try it 🙂

  9. Gabriella is a SERIOUSLY adorable baby 🙂 awww. What an awesome mother’s day gift!! Craig’s mom must love you 🙂 🙂

    I really need to start using my crockpot. I always mean to but I just don’t have enough recipes!

  10. Oh my word, she is so adorable! I love her little “ponytail”! 😉

Leave a Reply

