All It Took Was a Little Spice

As time goes on, we learn SO much about little miss Gabriella. Just like any parent you go through your ups and downs; times can be REALLY trying, but then the next day you swear you have the perfect baby.

IMG_5087

Recently Gabriella entered a new phase. As a parent you will sometimes just tell yourself, ‘oh it’s just a phase & it will pass soon.’ It makes you feel better. 😉 But this phase was something that I haven’t really heard of too often, or at least I didn’t think it was all that common.

Suddenly she didn’t want to eat solid food. She went from polishing off a jar of food a night to completely ignoring it. We would try to feed her with a spoon and she would just purse her little lips together.

I didn’t know what to do. I was a little surprised, only because who wants to NOT eat ‘real’ food?!

I had a bunch of those organic food pouches, and usually we would pour some into a bowl and then feed her with a spoon. Instead I tried just feeding her directly from the pouch, she LOVED that idea…at first. When she started refusing the pouches I was really at a loss.

Another part of a baby eating solids is that it helps them sleep better, because they are getting additional calories during the day. I have been struggling with Gabriella’s sleeping. She is still getting up every TWO to THREE hours. So that means I get maybe five hours of broken sleep a night. I’ve kind of gotten used to it, but at the same time some days it can REALLY take a toll.

I became woman on a mission. I NEEDED to figure out how to get my child to like to eat solid food again. As I was sitting on the couch one afternoon, I was drinking a fruit smoothie and it dawned on me. Make Gabriella a smoothie!

IMG_5259

I had a TON of fresh fruit, all of which she had tried before, and I decided to throw it in a blender & make enough for a few days…and some for Craig & I too! It was a mix of watermelon, cantaloupe, peaches, plums, a banana & lots of blueberries. Girlfriend cannot get ENOUGH of blueberries!

IMG_5262

Of course I had to try it before feeding it to her, as I do with all of her food (excluding breast milk, because well, that would just be gross). I’m not going to feed her something I wouldn’t eat! I thought it was DELICIOUS!

Next up, testing it out on the true taste tester:

IMG_5263

(we strip her down before feeding her, she likes to make a MESS 😀 …and I let Craig do the feeding so that I could play paparazzi 😉 )

At first she wasn’t sure what to think…

IMG_5264

But shortly there after she was grabbing at the cup for more.

IMG_5268

She drank about half of the cup that we gave her, which in my book was a win! It had been a few days since she had eaten anything (because breast milk, of course), so the fact that we got something in her belly was a small victory.

The next day I was texting my Mother in law & sister in law about the issue. They both suggested trying to feed her more, only because like I said earlier, it should help her sleep longer at night. My sister in law said that I can buy those pouches online that I can clean and refill myself, instead of buying them. I immediately went on Amazon & ordered some. I had no idea they existed. She also suggested just giving her a bunch of food to choose from all throughout the day, rather than just at night before bed. So yesterday I was on a mission to get her to eat solids, at least a little bit.

Then another thing hit me…(I’m just full of ideas lately 😉 ) try some kind of spice in her food. I mean who wants to eat plain food?? I don’t know about you, but I’m a HUGE spice/ sauce/ seasoning fan. Craig laughs at the fact that I will use a sauce on nearly everything. (My parents can also tell you MANY stories of my ketchup loving days when I was younger…I still love the stuff, but I don’t use it quite as much. I mean I put it on EVERYTHING as a child…including fresh fish….oh my! what the heck was I thinking?!)

Once Gabriella woke up from her afternoon nap, it was time to try something new. I mixed up a serving of oatmeal (baby oatmeal), sprinkled it with cinnamon, then smashed in a quarter of a banana. I sat her on the floor, and crossed my fingers for the best.

Well, not only did I have success, I had a HUGE SUCCESS!

IMG_5269

(thanks for her shirt, Mom 🙂 )

She LOVED it! Gabriella ate the ENTIRE bowl of it, she was LUNGING for the bowl. She couldn’t get the spoon fast enough! I couldn’t believe it. The whole time all that she needed was a little flavoring. Can’t say that I blame her, but why didn’t I think of it before?! I can’t wait to experiment with a few more new recipes to see how she reacts to those.

Now let’s just hope I can’t get longer periods of sleep out of my little chick! 🙂

Moms out there: Any one else experience this? Any favorite baby food recipes/ websites? I have a baby food cookbook that I love, but of course I’m always checking Pinterest for other ideas too.

17 thoughts on “All It Took Was a Little Spice

  1. I’m glad that you were able to get her to eat some solids! We have the same blender, and I always have a hard time getting everything to blend — I have to add a ton of liquid. Does this happen to you too?

  2. Oatmeal with cinnamon — girl’s got good taste!! Cinnamon is one of those things I’m convinced makes everything taste better. 🙂

  3. I have to put things on Mum Mums for Gentry to eat sometimes. it’s a job!
    emma @ a mom runs this town

  4. Is it possible to blend oatmeal and blueberries together for her? I know a lot of people through oats into their smoothies, so maybe you could do this too! Cinnamon makes everything taste good in my opinion! I’m trying to think of some “not so heavy” spices but it’s pretty much cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Nutmeg would be wayyyy to strong for her. Can she eat mashed up sweet potato with cinnamon?

  5. I couldn’t get my son to eat anything until he was 8 months old. He refused all purees and pouches and everything. We did baby-led weaning and started giving him the same food we were eating (pasta, enchiladas, refried beans, toast with butter, etc.) and he played around with it, put it in his mouth, and the spit it out. However, recently he has started eating it all with gusto. He downed a bunch of lentil soup, cooked spinach, plain greek yogurt, and guacamole yesterday for dinner. It was amazing.

    And just a thought – I am not sure eating more is really going to help Gabriella sleep better (although I’ll keep my fingers crossed just in case it does). If that were the answer, there probably wouldn’t be so many books and philosophies on sleep-training. Sadly, plenty of my friends have older babies that are eating lots of food and still don’t sleep more than a few hours during the night. My pediatrician recommended The No Cry Sleep Solution as a method to help my son sleep through the night, just in case you want to look it up. It has worked well with our son – but obviously every baby is different.

    • I have been reading a lot about baby-led feeding instead. I have been trying it a bit here & there.
      You are TOTALLY right- the eating more did NOT help with the sleeping- totally agree- no need for all of the philosophies & books if all you had to do was feed them more.
      Thank you for the suggestion on the book- I will have to download it & read asap!

  6. I’m glad she is eating some “real food”. Safe to say, many bloggers don’t even do that..ha ha…bad joke. I actually know quite a few recent moms so I’ll ask their experiences and if I hear anything I’ll get back to you (but hopefully you have answers way before then).

  7. Hey Holly! I follow you on Instagram and just realized you have a blog! I will have to slowly catch up ha! Sloane has been going through a phase on and off where she doesn’t want food also! And I also discovered the lovely cinnamon trick in oatmeal ha! Also I put a little unsweetened cocoa in hers sometimes she loves that also! Her new thing is loving to eat directly out of the pouches also… Not gonna lie I like this phase it’s way less messy ha! I have found that she is just kind of bored of mush and starting to want more real solids so I have been experimenting with things that are easy for her to swallow… She’s obsessed with canned peaches (no sugar added kind) they are so slippery they just slip down her throat I give her tiny pieces! Also look at your grocery stores for a thing called Kim’s Magic Pop ( http://www.deliceglobal.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=76&Itemid=150 ) it’s seriously baby crack ha. I get S the cinnamon one and tear it up and it like dissolves in there mouth so very easy to eat. And I will spread the baby food on it and trick her at times into eating it ha! I have also noticed Sloane likes her food to be cold she doesn’t like it straight from the pantry so maybe try that! Could be why G liked the smoothie bc cold?! Sorry for the novel ha! I look forward to reading more about yours and G adventures! It’s fun bc she is a lot like S! 🙂

    • Brooke!!! Good to hear from you! 🙂 Love our Instagram exchanges, but nice to hear from you in the blog forum as well 🙂 LOVE the cocoa powder idea- THANK YOU! Trying it tomorrow morning!
      Also looking for Kim’s Magic Pop- I keep hearing about Baby Mum Mums, this sounds similar, so I will have to check it out!
      Yep, G is the same- LOVES cold food over heated- I’m assuming it’s due to teething as well!

      THANK YOU for your comment!!!! 🙂

  8. Love the Ravens baby cup!! Rings don’t lie 🙂

  9. Pingback: Everyday's a 'Hollyday' | YouTube

Leave a Reply

