Andes Crème de Menthe Cookie Bars

Things are looking up around here!

I had my doctor appointment yesterday & good news: nothing but a flare! All of the results from the tests they ran just showed a ‘normal’ flare, no infection or parasites. (<—Gross, but one thing they tested for)

The other good news is that my new medication is really kicking in! This past week I have felt like my old self (*knock on wood*) & only continue to feel better. Thank you all again for all of the kind comments, emails & thoughts and prayers my way. MUCH MUCH appreciated! ❤

Anyways, remember that new wine I showed you on Tuesday? Apothic Rose.

IMG_5470

Verdict? Not a fan. I was bummed. It was too sweet for me and had a weird after taste.

But, I’m not one to waste wine.

IMG_5471

So I finished my small glass & that was enough for me. I’ll have to find someone that enjoys it. (& No, Mom, this wouldn’t be sweet enough for you…even though it is extremely sweet. I know how you like your sugar water wine. 😉 )

While I was drinking my wine,  I decided to bake. I have three ways that I like to unwind or de-stress: Running (or any form of working out), Drinking wine & Baking. So after the crazy day on Tuesday I was ALL about finding something good to bake. I also wanted to surprise Craig with a treat when he got home from his trip.

I had some chocolate mint baking chips and thought about making cookies with them, but I didn’t feel like having to make a bunch of batches of them. So instead I decided to make cookie bars!

IMG_5481

Andes Crème de Menthe Cookie Bars
(recipe adapted from here)

Yield: Approximately 20 bars (depending on your cut size 🙂 )

Ingredients:

– 1/2 cup salted butter, softened
– 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
– 1/2 cup white sugar
– 1 tsp. baking soda
– 1 tsp. baking powder
– 2 tsp. vanilla extract
– 2 eggs
– 1 package (10 oz.) Andes Crème de Menthe baking chips
– 2 2/3 cups all purpose flour

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9 x 13 inch baking pan and set aside.
2. In a large bowl beat butter, sugars, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla extra & eggs until mixed.
3. Stir in baking chips and then flour. Mix well, until combined.
3. Pour cookie dough into the 9 x 13 inch pan. The dough may be kind of thick, I just sprayed a fork with cooking spray & spread the dough out in the pan so that it was even throughout.

IMG_5479
4. Bake for 25 minutes, or until knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.

IMG_5485

Craig is a HUGE mint chocolate chip fan and these were right up his alley! As soon as he walked in the door he ate three bars. He loved them! I had a bite of one (mint chocolate isn’t really my thing), and I really liked them too. I really like baking with brown sugar, I think it adds such a good flavor over regular white sugar. Just gives it a boost, if ya know what I mean. 😉

I sent the rest of the bars in with Craig to work and he said they were gone almost immediately! I would say this recipe is a WIN! 😀

Well, I’m off, I have some reading to do for my first Bible study meet up! A group of ladies and I are starting this new study (based on the book ‘Tune In’) and we are meeting every Thursday morning. The kids will be upstairs with babysitters & the Moms will be downstairs discussing the book. I . CANNOT. WAIT!

Enjoy your Thursday!!

Questions for ya:
– Are you a mint chocolate lover? Favorite mint chocolate chip food?
– Are you reading any books right now??

9 thoughts on “Andes Crème de Menthe Cookie Bars

  1. Yes, I’m not one to waste wine either. Bible study sounds awesome! Enjoy it!

  2. Wow they look very yummy. I’m looking to get baking again soon.

  3. These bars look delicious! I don’t think I’ve ever seen Andie’s baking chips before! I need to find them to make this 🙂

  4. I’m not a mint chocolate lover either! My husband is though! Maybe I will be a nice wife and make these for him! Have fun at your Bible study!

  5. i’m going to make these next weekend 🙂

  6. I’m not a huge fan of mint chocolate chip anything. I mean, it has chocolate so it’s good but definitely not one of my top contenders. Have a great time at the study!

  7. Those bars look yummy!

    interestingly I’m not a red wine drinker but my FAVORITE red wine of all time is Apothic Red. You should dry it 🙂 Maybe you’ll like the Red better than the Rose.

  8. That looks DELISH! I love mint chocolate. Just may have to try those bars. Hmm…haven’t heard of that book before, can’t wait to hear more about it. I’ve been going through Jesus Calling by Sarah Young for my daily devotionals…it’s WONDERFUL if you’ve never read it. 🙂

  9. Running, wine & baking to unwind – sounds like me. It’s really too bad I don’t live down in your area of FL, we could do all 3 together! Sooner or later I will have to get myself down to Orlando to visit you.

Leave a Reply

