Agendas

I didn’t have a post planned for this morning, but then I did a devotion in my Bible Study book this morning & HAD to share. It really opened my eyes, and I think it may have an influence on some of you too.

The book we are using for Bible Study is ‘Tune In’ by Jen Hatmaker. It is a WONDERFUL book, and I highly recommend it. You can also do the study on your own, it doesn’t  have to be with a group. Either way I think you would really enjoy it. The book is written in a modern context and her writing style just really makes things clear. One minute she is making you laugh, and then the text she writes something so powerful that it really makes you think.

tune in

(^picture from Amazon Winking smile )

In the chapter regarding ‘peace,’ I read this passage:

‘We must lose our pride to gain salvation. OUR AGENDAS MUST DIE IN FAVOR OF A LIFE OF SUBMISSION. We sacrifice selfishness for holiness, pleasure for righteousness. Those are HARD TO LAY DOWN.’

The words in caps REALLY hit me. How often do we try to plan out our lives? I mean everyday I have an ‘agenda’ for the day that I plan out in the morning. It could be something silly, like what I need to get from the grocery store, or how long I plan to run. But I also try to plan our my life’s agenda. And I think that is why this hit me so hard. OUR agendas MUST DIE in favor of a life of submission. WOW. Not going to lie, that is HARD to do.

That’s my goal though, to work on that. Let God guide me with what HE wants me to do in my life. The funny thing is that I think he is guiding me right now. Guiding me towards something new in my life. I was actually talking to some friends about it yesterday, and I really just feel like it’s something I should do. I plan to talk about it more in a little while, I am still praying about it to make sure that really is part of my ‘agenda’ that God has in mind for me. Smile

The main thing I need to remember though is to just take a step back and let God guide me. STOP trying to plan every detail. Let HIM guide me.

Are you a planner?
Do you lay out all of your plans for the day before starting?

4 thoughts on “Agendas

  1. I’m going to remember this message. I’m SUCH a planner, but most of the time, plans don’t really turn out the way we think they will, do they? It only sets me up for failure, so I just need to let go!

  2. I plan out everything from career choices to meals for the day. I’m a planner 100% and have a hard time just LIVING. This is a great message and something I really, really have to work on, too!

  3. Um, wow. That’s me to a T. I’m a total planner. I like to know what’s coming and what to expect. I’m working on learning to be more spontaneous though. While planning in and of itself isn’t a bad thing, it is when you’re not flexible in your plans for “God-things” that come up. I like the phrase “our agendas must die.” Because seriously, let’s face it…what do I REALLY know about what’s coming next in my life? Nada.

    SO glad you posted this. Thanks!

  4. I can relate to this so much. I honestly was so wrapped up in planning things at the beginning of the summer that it really stressed me out more then it should. I was focused on planning every aspect I possibly could. Since taking a step back and just relaxing, I can truly say I’m just much happier and stress free.

Leave a comment