15 Minute Granola

Happy Birthday to my Big Sister, Erin! I LOVE you!

Thanks for always being here for me, and for sticking by my side. You mean the world to me ❤

*****************************************************************************************

Do you have certain foods that are just ‘no’ foods? Those certain foods that you just can’t justify eating, because they may not be worth the calories. Ya, they may taste good, but you just can’t get past how bad they are for you.

One of those foods for me used to be granola. It always used to be called a ‘healthy’ food, but people never looked at the nutrition facts. They saw things like oats, raisins, nuts, etc & figured that it was healthy. Well, when you actually look at the nutrition facts they are pretty shocking! Most of the time the serving size is about 1/4 of a cup..which is NOTHING; & they are typically full of processed sugar.

Recently, within the last couple of years, there is finally healthy granola!! The kind that is made with all natural ingredients, like honey, oats, flaxseed, chia seeds, and NO high fructose corn syrup. One of my favorite brands is Love Grown Granola– my favorite one is the raisin almond crunch. YUM! So good in yogurt, oatmeal, or just eaten by the handful. 🙂

The only thing that I have noticed is that granola can be kind of pricey. I didn’t mind paying the price, since I knew that it was made from all natural ingredients. But then I discovered how EASY it is to make my own! (15 minutes & DONE!) I happened to find a recipe on Julie’s blog for Peanut Butter granola. I don’t know why I waited so long to try this recipe, but goodness, I’m sure glad I did!! It’s my new favorite go-to granola recipe.

I changed a few things, but the recipe is based off of Julie’s original recipe.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola

012-1

-1 tbsp. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter (<—my favorite pb)
-1 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
-2 tbsp. honey or agave nectar
-1/4 tsp. cinnamon
-1/2 tsp. almond extract
-2 tsp. chia seeds
-1 tsp. flax seeds (ground or whole)
-1 cup oats

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  • Spray cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.
  • Combine peanut butters and honey (or agave) in a bowl and microwave until peanut butter melts (approximately 20 seconds). Stir.
  • Stir cinnamon and almond extract into peanut butter and honey mixture.
  • Add oats, chia seeds, & flax seeds and stir until oats are completely covered in peanut butter mixture.
  • Spread out oat mixture onto prepared cookie sheet and bake for 10- 12 minute, or until oats are golden brown.
  • Let cool until granola is crunchy.

009-1

This recipe is SO good!! I typically double the recipe so that I have enough granola for the week. Just make sure you watch the granola in the oven when you first make this because all ovens are different…and this can burn really quick!

I also don’t know what it is about chia seeds & flaxseeds. I LOVE ‘em! I put them in everything.
003-1

I love the texture that they give food. The only down side is that they always get stuck in my teeth. That sure is a gorgeous look! 😉

If you eat granola, do you have a favorite flavor?

18 thoughts on “15 Minute Granola

  1. Happy birthday to your big sis! My big sister’s birthday is tomorrow – I swear we have way too much in common 😉

    I’m with ya on the granola – there are so many good-for-you healthy options today, but they’re so pricey (although, I guess relative to what we pay for a coffee at Starbucks…). I love making my own at home, I think I forget how easy it is!

    Love the add of the chocolate PB, that and the white chocolate are my favorites!

  2. Happy Birthday to your sis! This is a great granola recipe too… and one I will definitely be trying. I don’t like buying it anymore, like you said too expensive and usually way too sugary and fatty to be healthy at all!

  3. Happy Birthday to your sister! 🙂 That granola looks and sounds amazing. I really like Love Grown granola. I never knew it was so easy to make at home either. Definitely going to have to try it!

  4. Ooo yummy!! I’ve actually made that same recipe with Dark Chocolate Dreams and it was amazing :D. I generally like chocolatey granola, but lately I’m also really enjoying most other flavors as well haha.

  5. I’ve made my own granola too and it’s awesome! Except, I can never get it jsut quite crunch yenough… any tips?

  6. Chocolate pb granola!!!!! That sounds phenomenal!

    I think my favorite granola is a coconut blueberry one that I made a few months ago! It was rich and decadent! I know, weird words to use to describe granola….

  7. Looks sooo yummy!!! Happy bday to your sis 🙂

  8. I actually have some Chocolate Maple peanut butter from Vermont that would taste great in granola! I used to make my own granola a lot last summer, since I always add it to my oats in the morning. I try to sneak in chocolate whenever I can! 🙂

  9. YUM!!! My problem is that I have zero ability to use portion control when it comes to granola.

  10. Wow! You two sisters are gorgeous! Fabulous family genes 🙂

    I love LOVE Grown granola. My fave flavor of granola in general has cinnamon and maple in it. Nom.

  11. I love granola!! I think its best enjoyed on top of yogurt. That way you can enjoy it without it being a giant 500 calorie bowl!

  12. Happy birthday to your sister! 🙂 Both of you are so pretty!

    That granola looks AWESOME!! 🙂

Leave a comment